Senator Stabenow Nominates 32 Michigan Students to Military Academies

Thursday, December 27, 2018

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow announced today that she has nominated 32 Michigan students for placement at the United States Military Academy at West Point, NY, the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD, the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, CO and the United States Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY. 


“Michigan is fortunate to have so many exceptional students who want to serve our country through military service,” said Senator Stabenow. “Having demonstrated a strong commitment to excellence in and out of the classroom, I am confident they will represent Michigan and our country well.”


Students seeking appointment to a service academy must first obtain the nomination of their U.S. Senator, their U.S. Representative, or the Vice President. Students nominated by Senator Stabenow’s office went through a highly competitive application process that included interviews by veteran, military and community leaders. Now that the students have been nominated, they must await acceptance for admission by the academy to which they have applied. 


The following students have been nominated by Senator Stabenow to a service academy (by region):



Southeast Michigan:

Alfred Biland – Chesterfield, West Point

Anthony Demitry – Novi, Air Force Academy

Ava Millman – Ann Arbor, Naval Academy

Daniel Reimchen – Lake Orion, West Point

Delace Jia – Bloomfield Hills, Naval Academy

Erika Rapp – Whitmore Lake, West Point

Jacob Muscato – Pinckney, Air Force Academy

Joshua Klein – West Bloomfield, West Point

Julia Marshall – Belleville, Naval Academy

Michael Lance – Ann Arbor, West Point

Michael Yamin – Bloomfield Hills, Air Force Academy

Rachael Baker – Leonard, Air Force Academy

Savannah Benson-China – Detroit, Air Force Academy



West Michigan:

Brandon Pham – Grand Rapids, Naval Academy

Diego Campos – Battle Creek, Naval Academy

Jack Horton – Hastings, West Point

Janna Ercole – Nunica, West Point

Mary Podiak – Portage, Naval Academy

Mason Doorn – Lowell, Air Force Academy

Tyler Twiss – Holland, West Point



Upper Peninsula:

Dante Cyrus – Houghton, Air Force Academy

Peter Nyfeler – Marquette, Air Force Academy

Peyton Johnson – Iron Mountain, Naval Academy



Northern Michigan:

Henry Carroll – Traverse City, West Point

Joseph Buswinka – Manistee, Air Force Academy

Matthew Jeffery – Sheridan, Merchant Marine Academy

Samuel Lowery – Alanson, Naval Academy




Caitlin Crittenden – Lansing, Air Force Academy

Colin Day – Haslett, West Point



Flint/Great Lakes Bay/Thumb Region:

Connor Van Loo – Freeland, Naval Academy

Emily Jedrzejczak – Avoca, Naval Academy

Malan Manwaring – Clio, Merchant Marine Academy