Stabenow Co-Leads Conference Committee Meeting to Develop a Final Bipartisan Farm Bill

After the Senate passed the Roberts-Stabenow bipartisan Farm Bill 86-11, conference committee convenes Senate and House members to complete a final bill that will provide certainty for Michigan’s farmers, families, and rural communities

Wednesday, September 05, 2018

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow, Ranking Member of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry, today joined Senators and Representatives from both parties at the first conference committee meeting to develop a final bipartisan Farm Bill.  The meeting brings the conference committee one step closer to finalizing a five-year Farm Bill that will create jobs and provide certainty for Michigan’s agricultural economy.


“In Michigan, agriculture supports one in four jobs. I hear from our farmers and agricultural businesses that now more than ever they need the certainty of a five-year Farm Bill,” Stabenow said. “Today’s conference committee meeting shows that through hard-work and perseverance, bipartisanship is still possible.”


You can watch the Farm Bill Conference Committee Meeting live here.


Serving as Chairwoman of the Agriculture Committee in 2014, Stabenow authored the current Farm Bill, which is set to expire in September 30, 2018. Stabenow co-authored the new bipartisan 2018 Senate Farm Bill with Committee Chairman Pat Roberts (R-Kan.) The bill passed the U.S. Senate on June 29, 2018 on a strong bipartisan vote of 86-11 – the most votes a Senate Farm Bill has ever received.


Stabenow’s 2018 Senate Farm Bill strongly supports Michigan’s farmers and agricultural economy, which is the state’s second-largest industry. The bill also has a major impact in protecting Michigan’s Great Lakes, investing in our small towns and rural communities, promoting Michigan forestry, supporting local food economies and providing healthy food for families.


Because the House and Senate passed different versions of the Farm Bill this year, the conference committee was formed to craft a final version. The Farm Bill Conference Committee is composed of 56 members, including nine Senators and 47 Representatives. As Ranking Member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, Stabenow serves as one of the four leaders of the conference committee. Once the conference committee agrees to a final bill, it will then go to both the House and a Senate for a vote, and if passed will go to the president for his signature. 


For a summary of the 2018 bipartisan Senate Farm Bill, click here.


For a summary of statements from Michigan agricultural leaders praising the 2018 Senate Farm Bill, click here.