Senator Stabenow Nominates 53 Michigan Students to Military Academies

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow announced that she has nominated 53 Michigan students for placement at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, NY, the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD, the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, CO, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY. 

“Michigan is fortunate to have so many exceptional students who want to serve our country through military service,” said Senator Stabenow. “Having demonstrated a strong commitment to excellence in and out of the classroom, I am confident they will represent Michigan and our country well.”

Students seeking appointment to a service academy must first obtain the nomination of their U.S. Senator, their U.S. Representative, or the Vice President. Students nominated by Senator Stabenow’s office went through a competitive application process that included interviews by community leaders. Now that the students have been nominated, they must await acceptance for admission by the academy to which they have applied. 


The following students have been nominated by Senator Stabenow to a service academy (by region):


Southeast Michigan:


Nicolas Bennett-Carpenter – Bloomfield Hills, West Point

Molly Brabant – St. Clair Shores, Air Force Academy

Kayla Bruner – Lake Orion, Naval Academy

Madison Burgin – Lake Orion, Air Force Academy

Tyler Chema – Clarkston, Naval Academy

Jay Cooke – Bloomfield Hills, Naval Academy

Noah Dobos – Chelsea, Naval Academy

Naveen Fujii – Ann Arbor, Naval Academy

Zachary Hermosillo-Deboer – Belleville, Merchant Marine Academy

Hannah Homsy – Grosse Pointe, West Point

Aubrey Leggat – Grosse Pointe, Naval Academy

John Libcke – West Bloomfield, Merchant Marine Academy

Ian MacKinnon – Plymouth, West Point

Robert Martinez – Flat Rock, Naval Academy

Jamie Miller – Rochester Hills, Naval Academy

Nathanial Misra – Rochester, Air Force Academy

Wynter Nickless – Farmington Hills, West Point

Jordan Niehoff – Chelsea, West Point

James Niemeyer – Ray, West Point

Ross Reason – Bloomfield Hills, West Point

Miranda Reinhart – White Lake, Naval Academy

Ryan Rocca – Troy, West Point

Stephen Rumsey – Avoca, Air Force Academy

James Tweedie – Oakland Twp., West Point

Logan Vish – Howell, Merchant Marine Academy

Maria Viviano – Clinton Twp., Air Force Academy

Kara Wallace – Beverly Hills, Naval Academy

Weslee Warren – Garden City, Naval Academy

Alex Zhang – Troy, West Point


West Michigan:


Francine Barchett – Benton Harbor, West Point

Grace Beverage – Portage, West Point

Benjamin Coll – Kalamazoo, Naval Academy

Tiana Colovos – Comstock Park, Air Force Academy

Raul Cuellar – St. Joseph, Naval Academy

Georgia Deems – Grand Rapids, West Point

Charlotte Lee – Spring Lake, Naval Academy

Andrew MacGregor – Grand Rapids, Naval Academy

Scott Nieboer – Holland, West Point

Gabriel Pedraza – Portage, Naval Academy

Gavin Poulin – North Muskegon, West Point

Kellen Rau – Grandville, Air Force Academy

Joseph Rockwell – Marshall, West Point

Mariah Rossi – Grand Rapids, West Point


Upper Peninsula:


Hannah Allen – Kingsford, Air Force Academy


Northern Michigan:


Lucas Catron – Ludington, West Point

Cecelia Richardson – Traverse City, Naval Academy

Nicole Roxbury – Traverse City, Naval Academy




Ethan Stutzman – Elsie, Air Force Academy

Madison Swope – Jackson, Naval Academy


Flint/Great Lakes Bay Region:


Maxwell Coleman – Midland, West Point

Mackenzie Marshall – Fenton, Naval Academy

Trace Sheerin – Goodrich, Air Force Academy

Benjamin Vollbach – Standish, West Point