Senator Stabenow Nominates 52 Michigan Students to Military Academies

Monday, December 22, 2014

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow announced today that she has nominated 52 Michigan students for placement at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, NY, the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD, the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, CO, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY.

"I'm proud to see so many exceptional students from Michigan want to serve our country through military service," said Senator Stabenow. "Having demonstrated a strong commitment to excellence in and out of the classroom, I know that they will represent Michigan and our country well."

Students seeking appointment to a service academy must first obtain the nomination of their U.S. Senator, their U.S. Representative, or the Vice President. Students nominated by Senator Stabenow's office went through a competitive application process that included interviews by community leaders. Now that the students have been nominated, they must await acceptance for admission by the academy to which they have applied.

The following students have been nominated by Senator Stabenow to a service academy (by region):

West Michigan:

Kaylie Butt - Portage, Naval Academy
Daniel Christensen - Augusta, Air Force Academy
Blake Driscol - Grand Rapids, Naval Academy
Zachary Hoiles - Grand Rapids, West Point
Samantha Price - Marshall, Air Force Academy
Jeremy Schwartz - Grand Rapids, Air Force Academy
Peter Sinkovitz - Richland, Naval Academy
Zachary Winzer - North Muskegon, Merchant Marine Academy
Peter Woudenberg - Holland, West Point

Southeast Michigan:

Kyle Abraham - Northville, Air Force Academy
Spencer Barlow - Troy, Air Force Academy
Andrew Belanger - South Lyon, West Point
Ryan Brand - Novi, Air Force Academy
Alexandra Davis - Canton, West Point
Joseph Dowler - Beverly Hills, Naval Academy
Benjamin Finnegan - South Lyon, Naval Academy
Jacob Franchak - White Lake, Air Force Academy
Benjamin George - Wixom, Naval Academy
Andrew Greidanus - Franklin, West Point
Lauren Hudak -Bloomfield Hills, West Point
Sean Kirchner - Newport, West Point
Sean Krasovic - Rochester Hills, Air Force Academy
Michael Landuyt - Grosse Pointe Park, Naval Academy
Andrew Lang - Livonia, Merchant Marine Academy
Daniel Lindauer - Chelsea, Naval Academy
Sean McCullough - Northville, Naval Academy
Joel Moriarty - Canton, Air Force Academy
Robert Niehof - West Bloomfield, West Point
Christopher Nodland - Bloomfield Hills, Air Force Academy
Casey O'Brien - Troy, Naval Academy
Dominic Perrin - South Lyon, Naval Academy
Conor Ryan - Redford, Naval Academy
Madeline Reynolds - Clarkston, Naval Academy
Carlie Sleeman - Pinckney, West Point
John Solimanto - Redford , Air Force Academy
Benjamin Stanz - Canton, Air Force Academy
Kohsuke Tashiro - Bloomfield Hills, Naval Academy
Nicholas Tottis - West Bloomfield, Naval Academy
Colin Zavislak - Royal Oak, Air Force Academy

Upper Peninsula:

Adam Loman - Ishpeming, Air Force Academy
Justin Waligora - Gladstone, Air Force Academy

Northern Michigan:

Erik Anton - Suttons Bay, Naval Academy
Jared Byers - Petoskey, Naval Academy
Paige Cooley - Traverse City, Air Force Academy
Jeffrey Linenger - Suttons Bay, Naval Academy
Erin McDonnell - Traverse City, Naval Academy


Seth Killian - Jackson, Air Force Academy
Matthew Stamler - Jackson, Naval Academy

Flint/Saginaw/Bay Area:

Ryan Comrie - Owosso, Air Force Academy
Kyle Daley - Owosso, Air Force Academy
Ravdeep Dhingra - Midland, West Point
Trace Sheerin - Goodrich, Air Force Academy