Senator Stabenow Nominates 44 Michigan Students to Military Academies

Thursday, December 21, 2017

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow announced today that she has nominated 44 Michigan students for placement at the United States Military Academy at West Point, NY, the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD, the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, CO and the United States Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY. 


“Michigan is fortunate to have so many exceptional students who want to serve our country through military service,” said Senator Stabenow. “Having demonstrated a strong commitment to excellence in and out of the classroom, I am confident they will represent Michigan and our country well.”


Students seeking appointment to a service academy must first obtain the nomination of their U.S. Senator, their U.S. Representative, or the Vice President. Students nominated by Senator Stabenow’s office went through a highly competitive application process that included interviews by veteran, military and community leaders. Now that the students have been nominated, they must await acceptance for admission by the academy to which they have applied. 


The following students have been nominated by Senator Stabenow to a service academy (by region):



Southeast Michigan:

Kathryn LeWalk – Redford, West Point

Madison Tolston – Commerce Township, West Point

Richard Russel – Kimball Township, West Point

Megan Hutter – Farmington Hills, West Point

Alexandre Jund – Northville, West Point

Emma Coenen – Armada, West Point

Samantha Chinn – Bloomfield Hills, West Point

Ashley Ruiz – Taylor, West Point

Zachary Loyd – Rochester Hills, West Point

Lauren Wegener – Rochester Hills, West Point

Dillon Massey – White Lake, West Point

Joshua Klein – West Bloomfield, West Point

Benjamin Pyle – Ypsilanti, West Point

James Kaleel – Ortonville, Merchant Marine Academy

John Libcke – West Bloomfield, Merchant Marine Academy

Jared Jenkins – Detroit, Air Force Academy

Jame Huang – Northville, Air Force Academy

Nickolas Presley – Macomb, Air Force Academy

Grant Davis – Bloomfield Hills, Air Force Academy

Danielle Parker – Shelby Township, Air Force Academy

Paritosh Coomar – Monroe, Air Force Academy

Matthew Gu – West Bloomfield, Naval Academy

Michael Berger – Chesterfield, Naval Academy

Katelyn McKinley – Chelsea, Naval Academy

Rory Cox – Livonia, Naval Academy

Vivian Harber – Bloomfield Hills, Naval Academy



West Michigan:

Emma Shea – Middleville, West Point

Sarah Guzzo – Battle Creek, West Point

Luke Edgerly – Richland, Air Force Academy

Seth Benscoter – Mattawan, Naval Academy

Nathaniel Nisonger – Vestaburg, Naval Academy



Upper Peninsula:

Mackenzie Kalchik – Sault Ste Marie, West Point



Northern Michigan:

Grace Martin – Traverse City – West Point

Reilly Ingleson – Petoskey, West Point

Charles Prescott – Prescott, Merchant Marine Academy

Madison  May – Lewiston, Air Force Academy

Kelly Klettner – Traverse City, Naval Academy




Christopher LeTarte – Eaton Rapids, West Point

Seth Maloney – Pleasant Lake, West Point

Gavin McGahey – Brighton, Merchant Marine Academy

Allyson Burba – Okemos, Air Force Academy

Avi Rajendra-Nicolucci – Okemos, Naval Academy



Flint/Saginaw Bay Region:

Frederick Heidt – Owosso, Air Force Academy

Mackenzie Stottmeister – Grand Blanc, Naval Academy