Skip to Content
Home  /  News  /  Stories  /  Story

Senator Stabenow Nominates 36 Michigan Students to Service Academies

Thursday, Jan 3, 2013

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow announced today that she has nominated 36 Michigan students for placement at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, N.Y., the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, M.D., the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, C.O., and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, N.Y.

"It's exciting that so many exceptional students from our state are willing to serve our country through military service," said Senator Stabenow. "These individuals have demonstrated their excellence in and out of the classroom, and I am confident that they will represent Michigan well."

Students seeking appointment to a service academy must first obtain the nomination of their U.S. Senator, their U.S. Representative or the Vice President. Students nominated by Senator Stabenow's office went through a competitive application process that included interviews by community leaders. Now that the students have been nominated, they must await acceptance for admission by the academy to which they have applied.

The following students have been nominated by Senator Stabenow to a service academy (by region):

Southeast Michigan:

United States Air Force Academy
Marshal Chen - Troy
Lindsay Culp - Dearborn
Collin Fifer - Novi
Alexandra Hutchinson - Dearborn
Ciarra McCarthy - Plymouth

United States Merchant Marine Academy
Aditya Bajaj - Northville
Michael Hermosilo-DeBoer - Belleville

United States Military Academy
Dionte Burton - Westland
Linda Erickson - Plymouth
Samuel Keller - Ann Arbor
Saul Park - Canton
Erin Savage - Troy
Thomas Spicuzza - Leonard

United States Naval Academy
Akbar Arsiwala - Northville
Michael Bundas - Saline
Chandler King - Ann Arbor
Andrew Misiolek - Lambertville
Samantha Myers - Dearborn Heights
Rachel Stein - Beverly Hills

West Michigan:

United States Air Force Academy
McKinzie Arnold - Caledonia
Seth Carozza - Rockford
Benjamin Dorsey - Muskegon
Troy St. Peter - Fremont

United States Merchant Marine Academy
William Fry - Sturgis
Kevin Clinthorne - Rockford
Issac Kremers - Ada

United States Military Academy
Sarah Baermann - Grand Rapids
Matthew Ziegeler - West Olive

United States Naval Academy
John Brooks - Ada

Mid Michigan:

United States Military Academy
Jacob Olechnowicz - Fowlerville

United States Naval Academy
Alexandra Hafer - Saranac
Austin Littley - Cold Water

Genesee/Great Lakes Bay:

United States Merchant Marine Academy
Alejandro Mata - Bay City

United States Military Academy
Jacob Fong - Saginaw

United States Naval Academy
Aaron Dupree - Flint

Upper Peninsula:

United States Air Force Academy
Sean Ryan - Iron Mountain


Flint/Saginaw Bay Office
432 N. Saginaw St, Suite 301
Flint, MI 48502
Phone: (810) 720-4172
View District News

Mid-Michigan Office
Senator Debbie Stabenow
221 W. Lake Lansing Road, Suite 100
East Lansing, MI 48823
Phone: (517) 203-1760
View District News

Northern Michigan Office
3335 S. Airport Road West, Suite 6B
Traverse City, MI 49684
Phone: (231) 929-1031
View District News

Southeast Michigan Office
719 Griswold St., Suite 700
Detroit, MI 48226
Phone: (313) 961-4330
View District News

Upper Peninsula Office
1901 W. Ridge
Marquette, MI 49855
Phone: (906) 228-8756
View District News

Washington, DC Office
Senator Debbie Stabenow
731 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: (202) 224-4822
TTY: (202) 224-2066

Western Michigan Office
3280 E. Beltline Court NE, Suite 400
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
Phone: (616) 975-0052
View District News

Contact Us

Email Me     DC Office Info